Author Topic: Still reading ... from a VFD owner  (Read 3836 times)

garnish

• View Profile
Still reading ... from a VFD owner
« on: August 12, 2018, 08:50:43 AM »
First, let me provide a bit of background.  We bought our place about 8 years ago with a 60/40psi 60gal pressure tank and a Franklin Electric pump controller (capacitors and contacts).  I didn't like how water pressure varied and we were renovating the entire house while living in it on weekends. So I went into the Pump store and they sold me on a Monodrive to run the pump (that had been down-hole for, my estimate, 25 years).  I was happy to get rid of the big 60gal tank and reduce my pumping footprint to a small amount of wall-space.  I'm not an engineer but I play one on weekends and a VFD made intuitive sense to me.  For 4 years we ran the pump that way and it was awesome.  I even ran an A/C coil in my furnace plenum but pumped well water through it because the water comes out of the ground at 6degC in these parts.  The coil was a 1/4" ID so flow rate was small but the VFD ran it fine.  Some months, the thing ran continuously because we have a lot of south facing windows and the place heats up real good.  The well is 10gpm and I was monitoring the head by tracking current draw on the pump (the higher the current draw, the lower the head, I wanted to see whether I was drawing the well down close to the pump.  Turns out I wasn't, even with irrigation and regular household use).  Suddenly after about 4 years, the well failed.  The drive started pumping black silt and the Monodrive kept shutting down the pump because it was plugged.  The well guy came out and it turns out he's the same guy who drilled the well 35 years ago and as far as he knew, that was the original pump that was in there.  Turns out the steel casing collapsed into the well and he tried to retrieve the pump but after a few hours, it was clear it wasn't coming out.  So we abandoned that well and drilled a new one about 50' away.  He dropp