Author Topic: CSV and PRV at the same time?  (Read 2877 times)

project_x

• View Profile
CSV and PRV at the same time?
« on: June 08, 2018, 07:21:29 AM »
I have an open loop geothermal system that utilizes my well water supply for both domestic water (ideally, high pressure, low flow) and geothermal (ideally, low pressure, high flow).

My well supplies 20gpm @ 50psi and I have been using a CSV for the last 10+ years.
My well is at 80ft, my static level is 10ft and the draw down is negligible.

My system works, and has been working for 10+ years.
At some point, I would like to install a much smaller pump and set the pressure to 15psi to supply the geothermal system with high flow and low pressure water. Then utilize a booster and raise the house pressure to something usable. But that is for another day.

In the short term, can I put a PRV after the pressure tank, on the geothermal line and reduce the pressure to 20psi....will there be any benefit or issue?....I would like to reduce the pressure on the furnace's water coil

Also for proof of concept, what would happen if I put a 20psi csv in line with the 50 psi csv that is currently in the well and changed the pressure switch to one that runs at 20psi? What would happen?
I would love to be able to plumb some by passes in to test the low pressure, high flow, and booster pump....without pulling the 50psi CSV and current well pump.

Thanks

Cary Austin

• Inventor, Owner, Chief Cook and Bottle Washer
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyclestopvalves.com
Re: CSV and PRV at the same time?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2018, 07:45:07 AM »
A pressure reducer would only lower the pressure on the furnace water coil, which I don't see as much of a benefit.  But just to test and see if the heat pump will work at 20 PSI would be OK, but I can tell you it will work fine.