Author Topic: Motor Bearing Problem from VFD  (Read 9476 times)

Cary Austin

• Inventor, Owner, Chief Cook and Bottle Washer
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cyclestopvalves.com
Motor Bearing Problem from VFD
« on: May 13, 2008, 11:31:23 AM »
Question ask by a VFD customer.

I will start by stating I'm not a motor guy, I'm a water well contractor. The problem that I have run into is that I installed a all new vertical water lube turbine with a vertical hollow shaft motor, in a new well and new controls. This is a 150 hp 460 volt U.S. motor and Abb acs550 series drive. The pump runs as smooth as silk (no vibration)The pump load in under the bearing rating, and I can fine nothing wrong with the system.

The problem is that twice in the last six months the top bearing has start make horible noised and has had to be replaced under U.S. warranty. The motor shop is telling me that the cause of the bearing failure is "shaft current problems" caused be the relationship between the drive and motor. First, does this make sense? Also can some direct me to some reference material that is specific to hollow shaft motors? Finally, any ideas on preventing this in the future? Thanks for your help in advance.

Cary Austin

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2008, 11:33:38 AM »
Answer from a VFD person.

Yes it makes sense, it is a well known phenomenon now. In a nutshell, the high speed switching if the transistors in the VFD causes capacitance to form between the rotor and stator. So a current wants to flow, but the only path it has is across the bearings and races. Even though the amount is small, eventually it acts like an EDM system and causes pitting in the races, which deteriorate the bearings rather quickly.